top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Adobong Tokwa - Philippines



A couple of years ago I made chicken adobo for myself and was very impressed by the results that a handful of kitchen staples could achieve. I shared that recipe on my blog a while back and you can find it here!


As I have mentioned in some of my other posts my partner and I are trying to have a more plant-based diet this year both for our own health and also to reduce our impact on the environment. With my IBS this isn’t always easy as a lot of pulses are generally off the menu specially if we’re cooking for more than one day at a time, and as a result I am always on the hunt for tofu recipes which is a protein that I can tolerate quite well. So this week as I was looking for a new tofu dish I came across this one, adobong tokwa which is basically a tofu adobo that is sometimes served with mushrooms. While mushrooms are also not great for my IBS I decided to give it a go anyway and used shitake mushrooms which are my absolute favourite.

I will probably revisit the Philippines in my challenge at some point as they have many dishes that look delicious and I would be eager to try. The combination of food from their tribes and various ethnolinguistic groups, with Indian, Chinese, Spanish and American influences introduces a whole new set of flavour combinations which are incredibly appealing, and I have heard wonderful things about their food.

But for now, let’s not digress further from this simple tofu dish. While I have discovered that there are several ways to make it, I chose to follow this recipe. However, after reading through others and tasting this one I think that next time I would perhaps not coat the tofu in the sauce before marinating as I would have enjoyed the contrast of the blander tofu with the punchy sauce, as is presented in some of the other recipes. Cooked the way in which this recipe suggests leads to a very monotone taste throughout, and I was grateful for the blanched pak choi and rice I had on the side. Remember: Tofu will easily take on the flavour of things you serve it with! As such please see my slightly tweaked recipe below!

Ingredients:

  • 300g firm tofu. If you use a brand like Tofoo you don’t need to drain it. Otherwise make sure you drain it for about 20 min beforehand and dry off with a paper towel.

  • 1/3 cup soy sauce

  • 1/3 cup cider or white vinegar

  • 2 cloves of garlic minced (or smashed to remove later)

  • Freshly ground paper to taste

  • 1 tbsp sugar

  • 2 tbsp corn starch

  • 2 cups of mushrooms sliced

  • 1 bay leaf

  • 1 tbsp olive oil.

Method

  1. Cut the drained tofu into 2 cm pieces.

  2. Coat the tofu in 1 tbsp corn starch and leave to one side.

  3. Combine the soy sauce, vinegar, pepper, sugar and garlic in a bowl.

  4. Add a small amount of water to the remaining 1tbsp of cornstarch and make a paste. Add to the soy sauce mix and leave aside.

  5. In a large frying pan add the oil and then fry the tofu until cripy. Remove from the pan and set aside.

  6. Fry the mushrooms until they are soft, then add the sauce and the bay leaf and cook until it has thickened slightly. Add the tofu back into the sauce, mix together and then serve over white rice.

1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page