top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Malawi - Mbatata (Malawian Sweet Potato Cookies)





When I first started researching food in Malawi I was immediately drawn to these orange cookies, it probably had something to do with it being about 4pm – just when I would usually be thinking about an afternoon snack. But when I researched again a few days later they were still my go to dish and so here they are!


When researching the cookies I found some websites that suggested that they have to be heart shaped as they are representative of the friendly and welcoming nature of Malawi, also known as the warm heart of Africa, but many recipes yeald a dough that’s too wet to achieve this. I mainly followed this recipe https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVtbIQg5mzY but ended up adding a little more flour (maybe ½ cup more) so that I could roll them out and cut them into hearts as this recipe here suggests https://www.curiouscuisiniere.com/mbatata-malawian-sweet-potato-cookies/. What can I say, the heart shaped cookie cutter that I bought 6 years ago really enjoyed it’s trip out of the cupboard! These cookies were delicious, delicately spiced with cinnamon, they were the perfect autumn pick me up. They have an almost cake like texture, I made 24 and ate all of them in one day… and no I didn’t share them with anyone.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page