top of page
  • Dany P.H.

To die dreaming – Morir Soñando Dominican Republic

Updated: Nov 6, 2020


I think this post might be my first drink, and while the Dominican Republic has so much by way of food to offer I couldn’t not give a dish with a name like that a try. When I read the name of the drink it really took me back to a thought I often have about how Spanish speakers really have a way with words that is hard to emulate in English. With Spanish people can gently romance the world and make everything seem like it’s part of a fairytale – you only have to listen to songs to pick this up.

But anyway I digress from food which is after all what you’re here for. While researching food from the Dominican Republic I stumbled upon this website which has some amazing looking recipes from a sweet bean dish to a pineapple cake which is filled with pineapple jam and looked absolutely divine! I really contemplated making that cake but decided against it because I don’t have the fridge space at the moment to safely store it.

This drink is made with orange juice, evaporated milk or regular milk, ice (lots of it) and sugar. Now before you start thinking eww that must curdle – it doesn’t. The trick to the drink is to make sure that everything is cold and that you drink it after making it, this is not a make ahead kind of drink but luckily only takes a few minutes to make. While I was researching recipes, I came across some which suggested that you could make this drink with passionfruit juice as well and so I decided to make mine half orange and half passionfruit as I love that combination. Also, some recipes used normal whole milk and others used evaporated milk which is essentially unsweetened condensed milk and you can buy it in a tin, it’s usually kept next to the condensed milk in supermarkets. I followed this recipe but adjusted the quantities as the tin of evaporated milk that I bought was only 400ml, so while I mostly kept the ratio I just made a little less.

The drink is very filling – like a milkshake!




Ingredients:

  • 400ml of evaporated milk

  • 200ml orange juice (or a mix with passionfruit) – freshly squeezed is best.

  • Sugar to taste – I used about ¼ cup.

  • A tray of ice cubes.

Method:

  1. Make sure all your ingredients are cold.

  2. Add to a blender and blend until the ice is crushed.

  3. Serve and die dreaming!

2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page