top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Taralli - Italy

When I think of Italian food hundreds of things spring to mind - pasta with delicious meaty and cheese sauces, excellent tomatoes drizzled in olive oil with a pinch of salt and basil, pizza, balsamic vinegar, hearty and warming soups, more pizza, red wine, cheese... this mouthwatering list was hard to choose from when it came to choosing a dish for my blog and more importantly so much of it I have cooked before which goes against the spirit of this challenge... there was also something that I have been wanting to make for myself for almost three years now and that's taralli. in May 2018 I visited a good friend who was living in Rome at the time and she introduced me to this small, unassuming ring shaped snack - that looks like a circular breadstick and comes in a variety of flavours (fennel seed being my favourite). The taralli were addictive back in Rome and have continued to be addictive ever since - I occasionally see them in shops and just have to buy them and when I made them for this challenge I ate so many on the first day that I had to ask my boyfriend to hide the rest until the following day! I'm not entirely sure what is SO moreish about these little breadstick like snacks as I don't have the same problem with other similar snacks but if I had to guess I would think it's probably something to do with the white wine that goes into the dough that results in a wonderful tang and umaminess! They are also twice cooked (boiled then baked) which results in a fantastic texture!



I used the recipe above and my only tip is roll them out thin! As you can see mine are like taralli's fat cousin and while they were still delicious and addictive they took a little longer to cook which resulted in a crunchier exterior which while not bad was not quite perfect! So I will be making these again and again but won't underestimate how much they will swell at the boiling stage!




1 view0 comments

Hozzászólások


bottom of page