top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Seswaa - Botswana

I must confess that I wasn't overly excited about the food from Botswana, there was a lot of food that was similar to things that I had already cooked and other dishes that just wouldn't have been possible with ingredients I could get locally. I settled for seswaa a slow cooked meat dish with onion and bay leaves which was very simple - and I must make a second confession here... I then used the meat for tacos! But I was very surprised at how much the taste of the bay leaf came through, normally it just gets lost in all the other dishes..

Makes enough meat for about 20 tacos


Ingredients

  • 1 kg diced beef

  • Water

  • Salt

  • 1 onion

  • Black pepper

  • 2 bay leaves

Method

  1. Add the beef, whole peeled onion, black pepper and bay leaves to the slow cooker. Add salt to taste and enough water to just cover the beef.

  2. Slow cook for 3 hours on high, then remove the beef pieces and shred!

  3. Keep the stock for other dishes!

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page