top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Palaver sauce - Liberia

This sauce is common in Nigeria, Liberia and Ghana and is often known as Egusi Stew. The name comes from a powder made from Egusi melon seeds which gives the stew a bitterish taste. The sauce was quite nice, it turned out with a texture like curry - I think I let the sauce cook down too much and then didn't wilt the spinach down enough, it was still delicious but for a more accurate representation do look at the recipe. I had to make a few substitutions from the original stew due to ingredient limitations - but luckily this recipe provided them for me! I am trying to make more recipes that don't require substitutions but it is not always easy or possible - so bear with me! Once you substitute an ingredient the dish looses it's authenticity which really goes against the grain of the challenge!


With thanks to Ben Hinson for the recipe which you can find here - see below for my version!



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page