top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Lithuania - Cepelinai

When I first started researching Lithuania I got really excited when I saw these potato and pork dumplings, they looked really tasty, creamy and comforting - however, my end result was SO terrible that I can't share a photo with you - so below is one of about halfway through the process.




The premise of the dumpling is that you mix mashed potato with raw grated potato to form a dough and then add minced pork, form into a dumpling and boil. However, I think that the kind of potato you use is probably really important. I didn't do my homework on trying to find the equivalent type of potato in England and my potato dissolved in the water - leaving me with some weird boiled meatballs instead and a whole load of goop at the bottom of the saucepan. If any Lithuanians out there have any tips I'm all ears - because I would REALLY like to ty these sometime! Despite my disastrous attempt I think they look really moorish!


This post here is one in English but I did google-translate some other ones to make sure that it wasn't far off the mark - if you try it and it works please let me know what kind of potatoes you used! https://www.thespruceeats.com/lithuanian-potato-meat-dumplings-recipe-cepelinai-1136766

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page