top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Laxoox – Djibouti



As you may have noticed this post is nestled well into the countries beginning with E and if you haven’t then I’ve just ratted myself out… yes I have been putting off making this dish for a while. When I first started researching Djibouti I came across this yeasted flat bread that is cooked like a pancake but only on one side and I decided that this would be the dish. However, for the past month or so I’ve been putting it off as you can see. I don’t know if it was the grey appearance of the final product, the fact that I had to prepare it overnight or having to think of something to pair it with… anyway, I’m here to tell you that I shouldn’t have delayed it as long as I did.

This bread was very simple to make and the unique combination of flours have it a very lovely taste that paired beautifully with butter. It took about 2 minutes to make the mix the night before and then I had it with soup the next day at lunch time. Don’t let the colour put you off because it really is delicious and something I would make again for sure. I got my recipe from here and you can find it below.

 

Makes around 8


Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1/4 cup wheat flour

  • 1/4 cup millet flour (acceptable substitutes include rice flour or sorghum flour)

  • 1 1/2 tsp yeast

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 1 tsp sugar

  • 2 1/2 cups water

Method:

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients together

  2. Add the water and stir until a batter is formed. Cover with cling film and leave it in the fridge overnight.

  3. The next morning heat a frying pan up over medium heat and add a little butter.

  4. Stir the mixture (it should look a little bubbly and don’t worry if it’s split – just stir it).

  5. Cook as you could a pancake – but only on one side. It’s cooked when the top is covered in bubbles and dry.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page