top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Kazakhstan - Shelpek


I few years ago I challenged myself to learn the name of every country in the world as well as one cool fact about each country - for Kazakhstan I learned that despite being a landlocked country they have a navy that operates on the also landlocked Caspian Sea. When I was researching cuisine I discovered that the consume quite a lot of horse products and their national drink is made of fermented mare's milk which sounds really interesting - but unfortunately not something that's easily found in England.



For this week I decided to try Shelpek - and I think I should emphasise the try - word which is a bread made with fermented milk - I chose keffir. I saw some recipes made big rounds of dough and some seemed panfried and others deepfried. I found the dough too wet to make anything bigger than what I achieved and I tried to do a shallow fry as I don't have anything suitable to deep frying and unfortunately that didn't work out too well as the first one absorbed all the oil and then I ended up panfrying the rest! Overall the bread was quite soft and had a nice tang to it - I had it on the side of a curry and it worked really well.


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page