top of page
  • Dany P.H.

India – Mago Lassi




When I think of Indian food a whole host of emotions, flavours and colours come and dance in my mind. When I was little I remember going to Indian restaurants with my granddad who would say that you could always judge the quality of an Indian restaurant by their dahl – and if we went to a new place we would wait for him to sample a dahl before ordering, as a result starved me would gorge on poppadoms which to this day remain a firm favourite. From there I hunted down good Indian restaurants in Colombia (which to my dismay there weren’t any) and eventually began to learn to cook some of my favourites at home with mum. Then when I eventually went to university I became really good friends with a girl of Indian heritage from the Punjab region and my flat’s kitchen was always filled with delightful aromas and she introduced me to many dishes which I still cook to this day. As a result I struggled slightly to come up with a dish I had never cooked before – there were pavs, and samosas and lots of other deep fried dishes that I am dying to try but will wait until I own a deep fryer. In the end I decided to show case the lassi, a yogurt-based drink that can be made sweet or savoury and goes very well as a side to spicy curries! I went for mango lassi (and used this recipe here) which is my favourite to order at restaurants and served it alongside a saag paneer and chana masala!


Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups of plain or Greek yogurt

  • 1 cup water

  • ½ cup of ice cubes

  • 1 teaspoon of cardamom powder

  • 1 cup of mango diced, frozen or pulp.


Method:

Blend all the ingredients until smooth and serve!

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page