top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Hot Pot Potatoes - Cameroon

You'll have to forgive the lack of photograph this week but my boyfriend finished the last portion before I could photograph it - so I will have to cook this simple dish again soon as I definitely owe you a photograph! I consider it a cardinal sin to have a recipe book without a photograph for each recipe - so I promise to return with a photograph as soon as I can!


This dish was tasty and quite similar to some of the other tomatoey stews that I've made from other African countries. I was very easy to make and I would definitely make again, specially as it is a filling dish that can easily be turned into a vegetarian / plant based dish! If you want to add a bit more flavour than my recipe below you could add a little bacon or chorizo! The original recipe I used came from here! And they do have a photo!


Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1kg potatoes, washed and cut into bite sized pieces. Tip: Keep in a bowl of water so they don't oxidise.

  • 1 tbsp oil

  • 1 medium roughly chopped onion

  • 4 large tomatoes chopped

  • 2tsp smoked paprika

  • 1 stock cube

  • 2 cups water

  • 1 tsp granulated garlic, or 1 clove smashed

  • 1 finely diced chilli

  • 3 sliced carrots

  • 1 bell pepper chopped

  • 200-300g firm tofu

  • Salt and pepper to taste


Method

  1. Place a large saucepan over medium heat and add oil. Once the oil is hot add the onion and fry for 5 minutes until they start to colour and soften.

  2. Add the tomatoes, paprika, and stock cube. Continue cooking for around 5 minutes, then add the potatoes and the water. Cook for around 10 minutes and then add the carrots, bell pepper and tofu.

  3. Continue cooking until the potatoes and carrots are cooked through.

  4. Serve with a side salad or some bread.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page