top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Eswatini : Slaai



This dish is probably one of the easiest I have made and boy did it pack a delicious punch. This salad/ side dish is made of avocado, ginger, lemon and roasted peanuts.

But before I dive into this delicious dish you may be thinking that you’ve never heard of Eswatini, I certainly didn’t think that I had. If I said Swaziland would that ring any bells? Formerly known as Swaziland, Eswatini is a small landlocked country about the size of Lesotho, which after the colonial era was one of the few countries to keep the name it was given by those who colonised it. In 2018, the king reverted the name back to its original and I for one think it’s a great name. So while the change is quite recent and most people probably can’t be blamed for not knowing about it I for one felt a little strange. There’s so much that goes on in the world that it’s really hard to keep track of everything that’s going on, especially when it’s so far from home. It made me feel happy for doing this blog which is allowing me to connect with and learn a little about a lot of countries that I knew nothing about and I hope that if you’re reading this you also appreciate the opportunity to know a little something about the countries other than the mostly delicious recipes I’m sharing here!


 


Ingredients

3 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger

½ teaspoon salt

2 large avocados (ripe), diced into ½ inch/1cm cubes

½ cup peanuts , crushed

Method:

Simple as: mix the lemon juice, ginger and salt in a bowl. Add the avocado and sprinkle with the crushed peanuts!

5 views0 comments

Komentarze


bottom of page