top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Dominica - Cod Sandwich




This week I tacked both Dominica and the Dominican Republic which should not be confused for the same country. This post is all about Dominica, an Island in the Caribbean. In my research I discovered that Dominica is famous for its extensive nature and that it is a relative new island that is still being formed by volcanic activicity – so in a few decades it might look a little different to what it does now. I have only been to the Caribbean once (St Lucia) and I must confess that I completely fell in love with the Island. I hope to be able to return to the Caribbean and explore some more.

For this week I was tempted by quite a few things such as Sancocho (similar to the Cuban Ajiaco), Manicou and others… and if I went to Dominica I would be sure to try their mountain chicken (not chicken at all but rather very meaty frogs legs) and their rum for sure. In St Lucia I tried Chairman’s spiced rum and it has stayed with me forever! However, as I scrolled through hundreds of pages trying to decide what to make, I went for a cod-fish sandwich, the picture looked too tempting!

So, what is a cod-fish sandwich? Well it’s breaded cod that is usually either sauteed or fried (I baked mine because I’m trying to be healthy), sandwiched between crispy bread with some lettuce and tomato. It is delicious and I can imagine that with freshly caught cod it would be even better.

After reading a while on the type of bread used, I decided to try making some Kaiser Style bread rolls. I won’t share the recipe I used because I wasn’t overly impressed with it if I’m totally honest but when I do eventually try this again, I will update this post. I would however recommend that your find some nice bread rolls that are moist – otherwise you will end up needing a glass of water to wash everything down.

The recipe was really very simple, I made 2 sandwiches so you’ll need:

Ingredients

  • two thick slices of cod about 10cm in length.

  • 1 egg

  • some flour

  • breadcrumbs

  • Bread rolls

  • Lettuce

  • Tomatoes

Method

  1. Beat the egg and then dip the cod into flour, then egg and then breadcrumbs. If you want them more coated dip back into the egg and then back into the breadcrumbs.

  2. Then bake for 15 minutes at 200, turn and crisp up on the other side for around 5 minutes. Serve on bread with lettuce and sliced tomatoes.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page