top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Coconut bread from Comoros

I was fascinated by the cuisine of Comoros and it somehow stood apart from some of the other cuisines that I’ve cooked recently. When I started to research dishes like Langouste a la vanilla (lobster and vanilla), M'tsolola (fish and green plantains cooked in coconut milk) really caught my eye. I could see a lot of influences and similarities with other countries, but Comoros had really put their own twist on things.

Despite the luxury of lobster, I must confess I was most attracted to Mkatra Foutra a type of pan-fried, yeast leavened bread made with coconut milk. Would I be able to taste the coconut milk? So needless to say, I tried this bread, which turned out to be deliciously rich and soft, with a hint of coconut. It was delicious toasted with butter.

This recipe is based on the recipe by RAFEEDA AR which you can find here. While I kept her quantities for things I did some more reading on other recipes and found that only some used sesame seeds and most didn’t use butter or oil to fry the breads, so I decided to omit this as the coconut milk was already quite a lot of oil.


Makes 6 breads

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp instant yeas

  • 3 tbsp sugar

  • 2 cups of flour

  • 1 can (400 ml) coconut milk

  • A pinch of salt

Method

  1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl.

  2. Add the coconut milk and fold in until all the dry ingredients are moist, it will be a very thick batter. If the ingredients don’t come together you can add a little water.

  3. Place the dough in a bowl and cover. Let it rise for 1 hour.

  4. Heat a non-stick frying pan on low-medium heat, and scoop 1/6th of the dough out and put it in the pan. Flatten slightly.

  5. Cook for around 2 minutes then flip and cook for a further 5 minutes.

  6. You may want to add a little butter or oil if you find they’re sticking.

  7. Serve warm

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page