top of page
  • Dany P.H.

China - Char Siu everything!

I have really neglected the blog for the last couple of weeks, but I can promise you I have not neglected the challenge, Io just haven’t had time to write recipes up. It’s kind of a shame to be honest because the recipes are staking up and this week, I must say that writing in the blog feels more like ticking something big off my to-do list rather than something I want to do for pleasure.

Once I’ve caught up I hopefully won’t fall back again and it will become a real pleasure again, but this last month I handed in my university thesis, I’ve found a new flat to move to (as I’ve now finished my master’s) and I’ve been job hunting. Although I like my job I’m on a fixed term contract and I really would like to explore other possibilities and see what else the world holds for me! So onwards and upwards!

In repayment... I guess? For my abandoning the blog I promise you a big blog post today – which I dedicate to China. My introduction in life to Chinese cuisine was not favourable at all, growing up in Colombia the closest you could get to Chinese food was a place called Mr Lee’s a chain which sold salty stir-fried rice with a lot of soy sauce and some mediocre egg roles as standard. When I later moved to England I tried a few take outs and the gluey sauces with a slimy texture did not entice me to return for more.. I found sweet and sour chicken tolerable, the crispy fried beef a respite from the slimy sauces and to be honest the only things that caught my fancy where Singaporean noodles (with 3 meats) and hoisin duck and pancakes – which is still a favourite to this day.

It wasn’t until my last year in Colchester that I discovered that Chinese cuisine had so much more to offer. After a day in the zoo with my English grandparents and mum (where we got VERY wet) we went out for a meal in a Chinese banquet house which really opened my eyes to the potential of Chinese food. There was a lot of tasty food, it was fresh, vibrant and thankfully devoid of the same three sauces that seem to come as a staple with every cheap Chinese takeout in England… and yes black bean I’m talking to you.

After this I didn’t dabble in Chinese food again until I returned to university in Oxford this time. While studying I met one of my now closest friends who happens to be Chinese which led to a re-discovery of Chinese cuisine and thankfully excellent restaurants. So be prepared because I will definitely revisit Chinese cuisine soon!

So this week my hero was Char siu pork where I made the pork itself, steamed char siu buns and noodles! The pork was delicious and everything you expect from this oven version of bbq pork – it’s sweet, aromatic, red, and melts in your mouth. The buns were completely phenomenal and the noodles my first ever handmade and an excellent way to use leftovers!

Below I’ll share my recipe for the pork which is an adaptation of the Woks of Life recipe which you can find here and for the buns I used the exact recipe from the Woks of Life which you can find here! I’ve copied it below as well for ease. I adapted the pork one slightly as I amalgamated from another couple of recipes but also because I had a different quantity of pork!




FOR THE PORK:

Ingredients

· 1kg of boneless pork shoulder

· 60g of sugar

· 2 teaspoons salt

· 1 tsp of five spice

· 1 tsp of sesame oil

· 1 tablespoon of Shaoxing rice wine

· 1 tablespoon of soy sauce

· 1 tablespoon of hoisin sauce

· 1 tbsp of fermented tofu or 1/8 teaspoon of red food coloring (optional)

· 2 tablespoons of honey

· 1 tablespoon of hot water


Method:

  1. Cut the pork into long strips or chunks about 8 cm thick. Make sure you don’t remove the fat.

  2. Mix all the other ingredients except the honey and hot water together.

  3. Cover the pork in the marinade and leave it to marinate overnight or for at least 6 hours, in the fridge.

  4. Preheat the oven to 270C.

  5. Place the oven rack on the space above the middle so it sits roughly in the upper third of the oven.

  6. Place the pork on a roasting tray (don’t throw the marinade away)– you need the pork to be resting on a rack that is above the tray. This will allow the air to circulate and will also allow the pork to bbq instead of stew in its juices.

  7. Place the pork on the rack and try to leave some space in between the pieces.

  8. Add about 1 cup of water to the tray below the rack – this will prevent any drippings from burning and tainting the meat.

  9. Place the pork in the oven and check it after about 25 minutes – if it looks like it’s burning turn the oven down slightly. Flip the pork over and put it back in the oven and roast for another 20 minutes.

  10. Flip the pork over again and turn the pan if you notice its cooking unevenly – so that what was at the back of the oven is now at the front. Roast another 15 minutes.

  11. While the pork is in the oven combine half the left over marinade with the honey and water.

  12. After the 15 minutes are up baste the pork on both sides with the marinade and honey mixture. Roast it for a final 10 – 15 minutes.

  13. The pork should now be cooked through and beautifully caramelised. If it isn’t you can add more honey and turn the oven up slightly.

  14. Rest the meat for 10 minutes and then slice and enjoy.

As I used the left over pork I halved the recipe below and it worked wonders! Again this recipe comes directly from the Woks of Life, and I really recommend you visit their site it's amazing!


Ingredients

For the steamed char siu bao dough:

  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast

  • ¾ cup warm water

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 cup cornstarch

  • 5 tablespoons sugar

  • 1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil

  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

For the steamed bao filling:

  • 1 tablespoon oil

  • 1/3 cup shallots or red onion (finely chopped)

  • 1 tablespoon sugar

  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons oyster sauce

  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil

  • 2 teaspoons dark soy sauce

  • 1/2 cup chicken stock

  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

  • 1 1/2 cups diced Chinese roast pork

Instructions

  1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook attachment (you can also just use a regular mixing bowl and knead by hand), dissolve the yeast in the warm water. Sift together the flour and cornstarch, and add it to the yeast mixture along with the sugar and oil. Turn on the mixer to the lowest setting and let it go until a smooth dough ball is formed. Cover with a damp cloth and let it rest for 2 hours. (I haven't forgotten about the baking powder. You'll add that later!)

  2. While the dough is resting, make the meat filling. Heat the oil in a wok over medium high heat. Add the onion and stir-fry for a minute. Turn heat down to medium-low, and add the sugar, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil, and dark soy. Stir and cook until the mixture starts to bubble up. Add the chicken stock and flour, cooking for a couple minutes until thickened. Remove from the heat and stir in the roast pork. Set aside to cool. If you make the filling ahead of time, cover and refrigerate to prevent it from drying out.

  3. After your dough has rested for 2 hours, add the baking powder to the dough and turn the mixer on to the lowest setting. At this point, if the dough looks dry or you're having trouble incorporating the baking powder, add 1-2 teaspoons water. Gently knead the dough until it becomes smooth again. Cover with a damp cloth and let it rest for another 15 minutes. In the meantime, get a large piece of parchment paper and cut it into ten 4x4 inch squares. Prepare your steamer by bringing the water to a boil.

  4. Now we are ready to assemble the buns: roll the dough into a long tube and divide it into 10 equal pieces. Press each piece of dough into a disc about 4 1/2 inches in diameter (it should be thicker in the center and thinner around the edges). Add some filling and pleat the buns until they're closed on top.

  5. Place each bun on a parchment paper square, and steam. I steamed the buns in two separate batches using a bamboo steamer (be sure the boiling water does not touch the buns during steaming process). Once the water boils, place the buns in the steamer and steam each batch for 12 minutes over high heat.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page