top of page
  • Dany P.H.

Bosanski Lonac - Bosnia and Herzegovina

This week I cooked a stew from Bosnia and Herzegovina while I was researching I was struck by how similar some of their dishes are to Turkey, which I guess if from their time under the Ottoman empire. i also discovered that their dishes are quite light, they aren't heavily spiced and sauces tend to be more like broths than grave - potato and other vegetables feature heavily. So I guess this week's very light vegetable and beef stew is a good reflection of their cuisine. I found it quite simple in taste compared to previous weeks and I must say I struggled with all the cabbage but they stew was tasty and quite refreshing for a warm day. It was also the easiest - low prep dish in my entire adventure so far!


For the recipe I used this one which is designed for a dutch oven but worked well in a slow cooker!




Serves 5

Ingredients

  • 1 cabbage head, coarsely chopped

  • 500 g beef (stewing)

  • 1 large onion, diced

  • 1 garlic clove, crushed

  • 2 large carrots, peeled and sliced

  • 1 bell pepper, chopped

  • 1 large potato, diced

  • 1 large tomato, diced

  • 2 bay leaves

  • 1 tablespoon paprika

  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste

  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

  • 2 cups water or beef broth

  • Salt to taste

Method

  1. Add the onion to the slow cooker and then add the carrots, peppers, garlic clove, bay leaves, peppercorns, paprika and tomato paste on top. The add the meat onto the next layer and add salt (around 2tsp). Add the potatoes and cover with cabbage and the chopped tomato.

  2. Turn the slow cooker onto high and add 2 cups of beef broth or water. If using water, you may want to add more salt and paprika.

  3. Cook for 3 hours and serve with rice or fresh bread.



0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page